Sunday Morning Greek Blog

November 19, 2011

Hover Text Test

Filed under: Greek — Scott Stocking @ 5:55 pm

Your Text
Edited Text

This post is a test to see if I have correctly coded hover text in .html.
The broader context, Hebrews 5:11–6:12, informs in part the understanding of the warning in verse 6. Verse six also has four words that are only found in that verse in the New Testament, I will break those down later. But first, let me address the context. The author of Hebrews begins this section by chiding the readers for not having obtained a level of maturity they ought to have obtained. In fact, “maturity” is a prominent theme in Hebrews 5–7, which has nine words from the τελειόω family scattered throughout. Hebrews 5:11–6:12 is also bracketed by an inclusio of νωθροὶ γεγόνατε/νωθροὶ γένησθε making the contrast between maturity and laziness even starker.

Here’s the problem I’m encountering. The first line that says “Your Text” is code I copied directly from a Web site (http://www.web-source.net/html_mouseover_text.htm, thank you). If I copy the code directly into the paragraph without altering it and update on WordPress, the code works fine. However, as soon as I copy my text (from Word, Notepad, or even the Character Map) into the code or use other code (like <em> for italics) and then update, WordPress wants to convert the greater than/less than signs and the quotation marks in the code portions to their .html codes (ampersand+name+semicolon) IN THE HTML EDIT WINDOW! I have discovered that if I type the text in myself, the necessary code symbols don’t change, so that’s my work around for now. If I’ve got any .html code-savvy readers out there, if you know how to address my problem, I’d be grateful.

Readers, please let me know if you’re seeing the hover text. Thank you.
Scott

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

